Social Situation

70% of charities in Hong Kong are small or medium size organizations. They work tirelessly focusing on local community, solving the social problems with innovative approach. But due to lack of visibility and resources, they struggle to survive every day. Thus, the beneficiaries they serve are even more vulnerable.

Moreover, in 1983, “whether a family could go yum cha with friends regularly” had defined as the standard of poverty by local social worker expert. A study by Hong Kong Council of Social Service in 2011 indicted that “going yum cha once in a while” is necessary for Hong Kong lifestyle. However, because of poverty, physical or mental disabilities, as well as lack of self-esteem, the underprivileged minority would avoid social events, causing them easily being isolated by the society and lack of social capital.

Yum Cha

"Yum Cha", is an integral part of the Cantonese culinary culture. In 2016, the phrase made it into the Oxford English Dictionary. The round table is a traditional culture that reflects the inclusiveness of the Chinese people and is easy to communicate with each other. The food in the dim sum cage brings out the beauty of sharing and equality. Chopsticks symbolize the achievement of things through cooperation. In the past, yum cha was a good place for making good things happen (such as date matching, business deals, job hunting, etc.), and people from different backgrounds could communicate in a relaxed environment.

"Yum Cha Together" is a social enterprise that hosts yum cha events as a matchmaker, with the mission of inheriting care and love to the community through dim sum culture. We create a unique platform to connect the society (public, corporations, students, organizations) with under-resourced charitable organizations and their beneficiaries through visits and yum cha events. We embed GIVE AND TAKE element to empower beneficiaries to shine by demonstrating their expertise at the events, to increase their social recognition and self-confidence. As the same time, participants can also experience the joyful and unique experience of helping others.

Yum Cha
Care
Inherit Food Culture
Yum Cha Together, inherits care and love to the community through local food culture.
Compliment
It was a wonderful experience offered by Yum Cha Together, the event offered a chance for participants from all walks of life to communicate and understand beneficiaries using local food culture as medium, in a fun and casual way
Caring Tea Patrons (public participants)
It was one of the most novel, meaningful and enjoyable charity events I have attended in recent years. The way we took part in the rehabilitation process is encouraging and rewarding. I am sure everyone who joined went home not just with tired legs and a full stomach, but also a nice memory of the meaningful event. Thanks “Yum Cha Together” again for organizing this for us.
Managing Partner of a professional company (corporation)
We are blessed by many participants (Caring Tea Patrons) brought by Yum Cha Together, they support us by sponsoring our kids’education programs, by utilizing their strengths to teach our underprivileged kids, so that they have better chance to learn English
Founder of a small charitable organisation

社會概况

香港70%慈善機構屬中小型,她們默默耕耘、扎根社區、服務貼地,運用創新方法舒緩社會問題。但她們由於缺乏知名度及社會資源支持,每日自我掙扎求存著。她們所服務的對象變相成為社會上弱勢中的弱勢。

另外,早在1983年,本港社會工作學者已把「家庭是否常和朋友飲茶」定為量度家庭住戶是否貧窮的指標。社會服務聯會在2011一研究指出,「間中到茶樓飲茶」是香港生活的必須條件之一。弱勢人士會因為貧窮、身體或精神障礙,害怕被歧視而避免出席飲茶等社交活動。欠缺人際交往使弱勢社群一方面無法透過與人聯繫而獲得經濟資源、資訊或機會等社會資本;另一方面越來越難融入主流社會,甚至被社會排斥,造成他們在心理、社會參與和文化等範疇長期匱乏,缺乏社會認同感。

飲茶

「飲茶」是廣東文化的一大特色,其音譯yum cha在2016年正式進入牛津英語字典。圓桌是體現中國人共融的傳統文化,容易互相溝通。點心一籠四件亦代表「人人有份」這種與人分享的美德。筷子寓意通過合作成就事情。以往上茶樓飲茶是撮合好事(如相親、談生意、找工作等)的地方,在輕鬆的環境下不同背景的人可以深入交流。

「得閒去飲茶」是以飲茶、關愛、傳承為理念的社會企業,我們充當紅娘,創建獨特的交流平台──透過探訪、互動及飲茶吃點心,讓活動參加者(公衆、公司、學生、組織及團隊等)了解香港不同中小型的慈善機構的社區工作, 同時直接與受惠者交流認識。「得閒去飲茶」的活動特色是加入了飲食文化的遊戲元素, 以角色轉換(GIVE AND TAKE)的方法, 締造機會讓受惠者能在活動上擔當主角,展現她們的個人專長,增加她們的社會認同感及自信心。參加者同時能感受輕鬆愉快獨特的行善體驗。

飲茶
關愛
傳承
飲茶不只是平凡生活事,還可關愛弱势社群,並傳承香港精神及飲茶點心文化
心聲
好creative,好有意義!沒想過將飲茶文化和慈善機構這樣結合
愛心茶客(公眾參加者)
今日個活動搞得好好,她們(姐妹們)好開心!完全放下煩惱,多謝你!我們衷心多謝你!
受惠機構受惠者
以輕鬆嘅氣氛貫穿整個活動,每個參與嘅人都樂於分享自己的事,得閒去飲茶令人放鬆
愛心茶客(公眾人士)